Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Kayak Original Hits album cover
3.12 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy KAYAK Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Ruthless Queen
2. They Get to Know Me
3. Mammoth
4. See See the Sun
5. Trust in the Machine
6. Wintertime
7. His Master's Noise
8. Mireille
9. Serenades
10. Lyrics
11. We Are not Amused
12. If this is Your Welcome
13. Chance for a Lifetime
14. Alibi
15. Reasons for It All
16. Starlight Dancer

Line-up / Musicians

- Ton Scherpenzeel / keyboards
- Pim Koopman / drums
- Max Werner / vocals, keyboards, drums
- Johan Slager / guitar
- Cees van Leeuwen / bass
- Bert veldkamp / bass
- Charles Schouten / drums
- Theo Dejong / bass
- Edward Reekers / vocals

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Agemo for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KAYAK Original Hits Music

Kayak Original HitsKayak Original Hits
$3.99 (used)

More places to buy KAYAK music online Buy KAYAK & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

KAYAK Original Hits ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(17%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

KAYAK Original Hits reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by friso
3 stars Kayak - Original Hits (1995)

Kayak is a Dutch prog band that made both symphonic prog and crossover prog. Their first four albums are highly recommended if you like artistic symphonic prog with a focus on beautiful song-writing.

If you're a fan of the band, there's no need for this compilation of hits. But, when looking at the track-listing of this cd, it's actually quite clever. One get's hear some of Kayak best songs, not the most commercial ones! This compilation almost sums the most progressive ideas of the band! The songs chosen all come from the first five albums, though there are no tracks from their masterpiece (and fourth) 'Last Encore'. An exception is 'Ruthless Queen', that was taken from a later album 'Phantom of the Night'.

Almost all tracks are highlights here. Extended songs like They Get to Know Me, Trust in the Machine, If this is Your Welcome, Chance for a Lifetime, Reasons for It All and Starlight Dancer are all great melodic prog-tracks that will attract those who like symphonic prog. The shorter melodic crossover tracks like See See the Sun, Serenades, Alibi, Lyrics and Wintertime are all worthwhile too. His Master's Noise stands out as a genius short-track and Mammoth is a quite bizarre hit.

If you are interested in the band, this is a good way to start. I do warn that the cd's sound less good than the '70 vinyls. If you want to give this Dutch legend a real change, you should buy one of their first four records on lp. Moreover it's important to point out that this compilation has no tracks from the 'Last Encore' album, which is actually their most progressive and artistic album. Still this greatest hits offers more than could be expected, so three stars is well deserved.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of KAYAK "Original Hits"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives