Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Iva Bittová


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Iva Bittová J. H. (Jako Host) album cover
4.00 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

1 Stane se, ze 1:49
2 Prostři mi plátnem 4:22
3 Smuténka 2:09
4 V černém 3:40
5 Tichá domácnost 3:11
6 Bratři Ebenové - Vidís, vidís 3:40
7 Gloomy Sunday - from the motion picture The Man Who Cried 3:31
8 Ej laskó, laskó 1:31
9 Sedí sokol 4:52
10 Maurice Ravel - Kaddish 4:01
11 Francouzská 3:44
12 Divná slečinka 5:28
13 Flageolety 3:26
14 Pro Johanku 2:57
15 Absint 2:39
16 Pax vita 1:59

Line-up / Musicians

- Iva Bittova / vocals, violin
- Richard Müller
- Lubos Novotný
- Pavel Fajt / drums
- Pavel Richter (guitar)
- Josef Ostransky (guitar, vocals, percussion)
- Jiri Kolsovsky (vocals, percussion)
- Zdenek Plachy (keyboards)
- Pavel Koudelka (drums)
- Bratři Ebenové
- Ida Kelarová
- Vladimír Godár
- Nederlands Blazers Ensemble
- Václav Bartos / vocals
- Petr Zavadil / guitar
- Tomás Fröhlich / bass
- Geert Waegeman

Releases information

CD Indies Records MAM186-2

Thanks to clarke2001 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy IVA BITTOVÁ J. H. (Jako Host) Music

More places to buy IVA BITTOVÁ music online Buy IVA BITTOVÁ & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

IVA BITTOVÁ J. H. (Jako Host) ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

IVA BITTOVÁ J. H. (Jako Host) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Marty McFly
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Errors and Omissions Team
4 stars This album really makes an impression. Starting as quite acoustic (just instrument and voice), we soon realizes that main instrument here is Iva Bittová's vocals. She ranges from sweet mellow harmonic pleasure (as on first two tracks for example) to more hypnotic and mysterious (like pagan rituals) choral of one voice as on Smuténka ("Sad One"), few duets (one with my favorite musician and talk show host Marek Eben who helps on Tichá Domácnost ("Quiet Household"). Her vocals skills are later on showcased on some Moravian songs and even one Arabic influenced track. There's even one Hungarian cover sung in English (probably from cover version that made it famous).

Through the album we're introduced to variety of instruments, each track has different basis, theme, lead instrument and genre, even all of them are acoustic, everything here sounds perfectly crystal clear, so it helps too.

There will be no horror at all, nothing extremely Avant Garde so that you would be scared to death, nothing negative in this way (even I'm aware that some people profit from negative feelings and transforms them in good waves of energy - oh, I don't like speaking about this stuff). Absolutely no, because this album is calm, acoustic and even so called "dramatic moments" are dramatic in only calm sense of this word. Don't expect classical music twists in pace and melody.

Because this music simply flows. It's one of these wet, watery, river-like albums.

4(+) and because of this I like it.

It's a compilation and as such I don't like them by default. But this is something like unreleased pieces so everything is alright.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of IVA BITTOVÁ "J. H. (Jako Host)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives