Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Post Rock/Math rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jakob Solace album cover
3.99 | 49 ratings | 3 reviews | 27% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review
Buy JAKOB Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Malachite (6:34)
2. Pneumonic (5:34)
3. Lonesome (8:00)
4. Oran Mor (5:16)
5. Safety In Numbers (7:53)
6. Everything All Of The Time (9:38)
7. Saint (9:01)

Total time: 51:56


Search JAKOB Solace lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search JAKOB Solace tabs

Line-up / Musicians

- Jeff Boyle / guitars
- Maurice Beckett / bass
- Jason Johnston / drums

- Dave Holmes / guitar (3)
- Tristan Dingemans / guitar & vocals (6)
- H. Walker / samples (2)

Releases information

Artwork: Julian Smith

CD Midium Records ‎- mid013 (2006, New Zealand)

Thanks to chamberry for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

JAKOB MP3, Free Download (music stream)

Open extended player in a new pop-up window | Random Playlist (50) | How to submit new MP3s

Buy JAKOB Solace Music

More places to buy JAKOB music online Buy JAKOB & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

JAKOB Solace ratings distribution

(49 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(27%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(49%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JAKOB Solace reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Any Colour You Like
4 stars In 2006, Jakob released their third studio album, Solace, and marked a further move towards an almost completely ambient style, devoid of any lyrics and 'standard' structures. The first thing that strikes a listener about Solace, is the fact that the music appears to flow with very minimal progression, but slowly morphs into a completely different realm altogether. Unlike Cale:Drew, the mass of black noise that would be apt to explode sometime during the song is pretty much absent, and replaced by a more layered yet no less dynamic progression.

In terms of post-rock, Solace is even more minimalist than Jakob's previous releases, or similar bands like GY!BE. The standout tracks include the proto-typical Jakob opener Malachite, the crisp percussion based grooves of Oran Mor, as well as the ethereal beauty of Everything All of The Time and Saint. Solace suffers a little from a sense of repetition, as any largely ambient piece will, but it at least has evolved its sound from Cale:Drew, both through a more polished production, and better developed soft-loud-soft structure. Instrumentally, Drummer Jason Johnston stands out, providing a solid platform for the development of each track, he is simply brilliant in the way he is able to control the timbre and tempo of each movement. This allows both Jeff Boyle and Maurice Beckett to heavily layer the sound over the course of each track. It is also very impressive that Jakob are able to create such mature and well developed pieces with only 3 members, and still maintain a powerful and full sound.

Solace is an incredible achievement for a Kiwi band, a mature and powerful album that doesn't always rely upon creating an angular mass of noise, but prefers to focus upon creating sweet grooves, ethereal soundscapes and calming moods. As long as you can keep your attention span, Solace is a very rewarding experience.

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars "Solace" is the third studio album from this Post-Rock band out of New Zealand, released in 2006. As the title would suggest they've made a recording here that has a calming affect on the listener overall, and this is certainly true when compared to their first two albums. I really like that album cover as well.

"Malachite" builds from the start with bass and guitars as the drums join in. After 2 1/2 minutes things get louder and surprisingly emotional. It settles back then that emotional section returns after 4 1/2 minutes. It's most powerful a minute later to the end. "Pneumonic" has this heavy distorted sound that pulses as the drums beat early on. A spacey calm arrives before 3 1/2 minutes then it kicks in even harder than before after 4 minutes with distorted guitars playing over top of the powerful pulsating sounds. "Lonesome" has a slow beat with Post-Rock styled guitars off in the distance to start. It gradually builds to an emotional sound after 4 minutes. It then settles right down before 6 minutes and it continues to wind down to the end.

"Oran Mor" has a spacey start as a beat joins in and more. Love the bass here. A distorted wall of guitars arrives 2 minutes in followed by a calm before 3 1/2 minutes. It then rebuilds. "Safety In Numbers" is spacey and laid back as a beat joins in. Guitars come in over top after 2 1/2 minutes. Man this sounds good 4 minutes in as it gets a little louder. A calm a minute later but it's brief as it kicks back in more powerful than ever. It settles back once again this time to the end. "Everything All The Time" has this spacey and drifting sound to it with a slow beat. This is good! It's building after 2 1/2 minutes to a more powerful sound thanks to the guitars. A calm follows before 4 minutes as we get this slow pulsating sound and it's also very spacey. This continues to the end. "Saint" sort f continues where the final 6 plus minutes of the previous track left off. This all reminds me somewhat of "The Sky Moves Sideways" sound. It settles back even more late.

Without question this is an album every Post-Rock fan needs to hear. A solid 4 stars and a very enjoyable listen.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Jakob's Solace, released in 2006 is another excellent instrumental post-rock album with lots of stuff worth hearing. Compared to the previous album, Cale:Drew, this one is much more ambient and more based on soundscapes and atmospheres. The songs aren't as structured; they are more about feeling ... (read more)

Report this review (#239419) | Posted by Tall Hair | Tuesday, September 15, 2009 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JAKOB "Solace"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives