Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Baris Manco

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Baris Manco 20. San'at Yili Disco Manço album cover
0.00 | ratings | 0 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1980

Songs / Tracks Listing

Cassette editions:
A1. Eğri Büğrü (5:08)
A2. Hüseyni Selam (2:38)
A3. Dağlar Dağlar (2:05)
A4. Nazar Eyle (1) (1:22)
A5. Gamzedeyim (1:16)
A6. Ben Bilirim (2:16)
A7. Nazar Eyle (2) (1:22)
A8. İşte Hendek İşte Deve (1:59)
A9. Kolbastı (4:20)
A10. Katip Arzuhalim (1:22)
A11. Nick the Chopper (4:54)
B1. Ne Ola (5:25)
B2. Yemen Türküsü (5:07)
B3. Taksim (0:56)
B4. Yeni Bir Gün (2:01)
B5. Anlıyorsun Değil mi? (2:06)
B6. Ne Köy Olur Benden Ne de Kasaba (1:35)
B7. Elveda Ölum (2:58)
B8. Kervan (Taksim) (3:53)
B9. Dragon Fly (4:35)

Total Time: 57:10

LP edition:
A1. Eğri Büğrü (5:05)
A2. Disco Manço Potborisi (17:12)
- Hüseyni Selam
- Dağlar Dağlar
- Nazar Eyle 1
- Gamzedeyim
- Ben Bilirim
- Nazar Eyle 2
- İşte Hendek İşte Deve
- Kol Bastı
B1. Katip Arzuhalim (1:21)
B2. Nick the Chopper (4:53)
B3. Taksim (0:54)
B4. Kervan (3:52)
B5. Dragon Fly (4:30)
B6. Yemen Türküsü (5:05)

Total Time: 42:52

"Eğri Büğrü" is an original song. An edited version of the track (minus the female background vocals and the extended synth solo at the end) was released the following year as a single under the title "Eğri Eğri Doğru Doğru Eğri Büğrü Ama Yine De Doğru" in Turkey.

Tracks A3-11 are reworked versions of some of the earlier Barış Manço hits, collectively referred to as "Disco Manço Medley" (not mentioned on cassette cover).

"Yemen Türküsü" was recorded in 1977. It was released as a single (backed with "Eğri Büğrü") in 1980 exclusively in Germany.

Tracks B1 and B4-7 are directly taken from "Yeni Bir Gün."

"Taksim" is the backing track of Barış Manço's wedding single's B-side, recorded in 1978.

"Kervan (Taksim)" is the extended backing track of the song "Sandığımı Açamadım" by Esin Afşar, recorded in 1974 and released as single. Kurtalan Ekspres played in the single as her backing band.

"Dragon Fly" is an outtake from 1976's "Baris Mancho" album. It was later included as a bonus track in its subsequent editions. The edit featured here includes "Bir Kelebeğin Yaşam Öyküsü" from "Yeni Bir Gün" album as intro, and also towards the end, along with some newly recorded synth improvisations. It is the same edit found in "Sarı Çizmeli Mehmet Ağa" cassette.

No info (other than track names) is found on the cassette or CD covers. Line-up and recording dates are taken from "Yeni Bir Gün" LP's cover and music magazines of the times.

Line-up / Musicians

- Barış Manço / lead vocals, keyboards (Moog, Arp & Korg Synthesizer), acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar
Kurtalan Ekspres:
- Kılıç Danışman / keyboards (Fender Rhodes Piano, Korg 700S, Roland SH 3A, Solina String Ensemble, Hammond Organ) (except "Kervan")
- Ahmet Güvenç / bass (except "Kervan")
- Bahadır Akkuzu / electric guitar, acoustic guitar (except "Yemen Türküsü." "Taksim" and "Kervan")
- Celal Güven / congas
- Caner Bora / drums (except "Kervan")
Kurtalan Ekspres members who played in 1974 and 1977 sessions, and guests:
- Ömür Gidel / synthesizers on "Eğri Büğrü"
- Oktay Aldoğan / flute, tenor and soprano saxophones on tracks B1, B2, B4, B5, B7, B8 and B9
- Fehiman Uğurdemir / guitar on "Yemen Türküsü" and "Taksim"
- Ohannes Kemer / guitar & yaylı tambur on "Kervan"
- Mithat Danışan / bass on "Kervan"
- Nur Moray / drums on "Kervan"
- İskender and Mehmet / violins on "Elveda / Ölüm"

"Dragon Fly" was recorded with Kurtalan Ekspres and Georges Hayes Orchestra. See "Baris Mancho" album in the discography for the full list of musicians.

Releases information

Cassette Türküola - 1341 (1980, Germany)
Cassette Akbaş Müzik GmbH - no cat. number (1999, Germany)

CD Akbaş Müzik GmbH - no cat. number (1999, Germany)

LP Türküola - EU-005 (2010, Germany)

This album partly consists of songs that are recorded for 1979's "Yeni Bir Gün" but shelved when the idea to release the album as double LP was abandoned. These songs are then brought together along with some earlier outtakes, rare tracks and regular album tracks, and released in Germany in cassette format only.
It can be considered a companion piece to the other Türküola compilation cassette released the same year, "Sarı Çizmeli Mehmet Ağa." The two cassettes combined contain all songs from the previous year's original LP album.

Thanks to Bilek for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy BARIS MANCO 20. San'at Yili Disco Manço Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
Dunden BuguneDunden Bugune
Guerssen Records 2012
$39.50 (used)
Yeni Bir GunYeni Bir Gun
Guerssen Records 2014
$16.98 (used)
Guerssen Records 2012
$60.86 (used)
Daglar Daglar - Baris Manço KlasikleriDaglar Daglar - Baris Manço Klasikleri
Sakla Samani, Gelir ZamaniSakla Samani, Gelir Zamani
Guerssen Records 2012
$38.10 (used)
Mancoloji 1943Mancoloji 1943
Emre Muzik
$17.99 (used)

More places to buy BARIS MANCO music online Buy BARIS MANCO & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BARIS MANCO 20. San'at Yili Disco Manço ratings distribution

( ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BARIS MANCO 20. San'at Yili Disco Manço reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BARIS MANCO "20. San'at Yili Disco Manço"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives