Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Baris Manco

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Baris Manco Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) album cover
0.00 | ratings | 0 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1980

Songs / Tracks Listing

Track listing

1. Sarı Çizmeli Mehmet Ağa (4:23)
2. Gesi Bağları (4:32)
3. Çoban Yıldızı (4:20)
4. Bir Selam Sana Gönül Dağlarından (4:01)
5. Flower of Love (2:52)
6. Fairground (3:08)
7. Susanna (3:15)
8. Ce Sera La Temps (3:05)
9. Aynalı Kemer İnce Bele (3:06)
10. 2024 / İkinci Yolculuk (6:09)
11. Ham Meyvayı Kopardılar Dalından (4:08)
12. Kurtalan Ekspresi (Kurtalan Hauptbahnhof) (5:30)
13. Runaway (2:52)
14. Bolu Dağları (2:25)
15. Dragon Fly (4:35)

Total time: 58:24

Tracks 1-8 are the A-side, 9-15 are the B-side on the cassette and vinyl editions

Tracks 1-4; 9-11 are directly taken from "Yeni Bir Gün" (1979)
(Second part of track 10 is replaced with the instrumental backing track of the song "Lady of the Seventh Sky" from 1976's "Baris Mancho.")
Track 5: single b-side, 1968 (with Kaygısızlar)
Tracks 6 and 7: failed attempt at a single, 1969 (with Kaygısızlar)
Track 8: 1977 or 1978 recording by a transitional line-up of Kurtalan Ekspres.
Track 12 is one of the first recordings made by Kurtalan Ekspres in 1972.
Track 13: single b-side, 1969 (with Kaygısızlar)
Track 14: instrumental recording by the "Baris Manco Etc." band from 1970.
Track 15: outtake from "Baris Mancho" sessions (1976) (includes "Bir Kelebeğin Yaşam Öyküsü" from "Yeni Bir Gün")

On the original cassette editons' covers, track 6 is not listed and the names of tracks 8 and 13 are misspelled.
No info (other than track names) is found on the cassette or CD covers. Line-up and recording dates are taken from "Yeni Bir Gün" LP's cover and music magazines of the times.


Search BARIS MANCO Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search BARIS MANCO Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) tabs

Line-up / Musicians

"Yeni Bir Gün" line-up (1978-1979, tracks 1-4; 9-11, info taken from Yeni Bir Gün LP cover):
- Barış Manço / lead vocals, classical & 12 string guitar, sitar, glockenspiel, synthesizer
Kurtalan Ekspres:
- Ahmet Güvenç / bass
- Bahadır Akkuzu / electric guitar
- Caner Bora / drums
- Celal Güven / percussion
- Kılıç Danışman / acoustic and electro piano, hammond organ, synthesizer
Guest musicians:
- Oktay Aldoğan / flute, tenor saxophone (track 4)
- Fuat Güner / Leslie guitar (track 3)
- Ömür Gidel / Fender Rhodes piano (uncredited, tracks 1 & 9)
- İskender and Mehmet / violins (tracks 3 & 4)
- uncredited female vocalists (track 1)

Transitional line-up between "Baris Mancho" & "Yeni Bir Gün" albums (1977-'78, track 8):
- Barış Manço / lead vocals, keyboards
- Ahmet Güvenç / bass
- Fehiman Uğurdemir / electric guitar
- Caner Bora / drums
- Celal Güven / percussion
- Kılıç Danışman / piano, hammond organ, synthesizer
- Oktay Aldoğan / saxophones

Kaygısızlar (1968-'69 recordings, tracks 5, 6, 7 & 13)
- Barış Manço / lead vocals, guitar & keyboards
- Mazhar Alanson / guitar
- Fuat Güner / guitar
- Mithat Danışan / bass
- Ali Serdar / drums

Baris Manco Etc. (1970, track 14):
- Barış Manço / guitar
- Jonathan Glemser / guitar
- Onkhan Tunca / bass
- Mounir Ghattas / percussion

"Baris Mancho" outtakes (1976, second half of track 10; track 15)
- Barış Manço / lead vocals, keyboards (Moog, Arp & Korg Synthesizer), 12-string guitar
- Celal Güven / congas
- Caner Bora / drums
- Ahmet Güvenç / bass
- Ohannes Kemer / guitar, yaylı tambur
- Kılıç Danışman / string ensemble
- Oktay Aldoğan / flute
- Georges Hayes / arranger & conductor
See "Baris Mancho" album in the discography for the full list of musicians
track 15 also includes some parts recorded during "Yeni Bir Gün" sessions.

Kurtalan Ekspres on track 12 (recorded 1972):
- Ohannes Kemer / guitar, yaylı tambur
- Nur Moray / drums
- Engin Yörükoğlu / drums
- Celal Güven / percussion
- Özkan Uğur / bass
- Nezih Cihanoğlu / guitar

Releases information

Cassette Türküola - 1341 (1980, Germany)
Cassette 747 - T 0023 (1980, Singapore)
Cassette Akbaş Müzik GmbH - no cat. number (1999, Germany)

CD Akbaş Müzik GmbH - no cat. number (1999, Germany)

LP Türküola - EU-009 (2015, Germany)

This album is a compilation of tracks partly taken from "Yeni Bir Gün" album, and a variety of outtakes and published or unpublished single tracks spanning the years 1968-1979. It was first released as cassette in Germany (shortly afterwards reissued by the Singapore label 747) and was available in Turkey only through cassettes brought by visitors.
Another compilation under the same title including almost all "Yeni Bir Gün" tracks was issued by Yavuz Plak (original publisher of the album) in 1986, but that album is more like a cassette/CD edition of the LP (it doesn't include any rarities, but tracks from "2023" and "Baris Mancho" albums as extras), so it will be added to the discography as another album.

Thanks to Bilek for the addition
Edit this entry

BARIS MANCO MP3, Free Download (music stream)

Open extended player in a new pop-up window | Random Playlist (50) | How to submit new MP3s
No MP3/Stream available for this artist.
Collaborate with, learn how to submit new MP3s.

Buy BARIS MANCO Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
Yeni Bir GunYeni Bir Gun
Guerssen Records 2014
Daglar Daglar - Baris Manço KlasikleriDaglar Daglar - Baris Manço Klasikleri
Audio CD$15.99
Guerssen Records 2012
$35.40 (used)
Dunden Bugune [Vinyl]Dunden Bugune [Vinyl]
Guerssen Records 2009
$29.99 (used)
Sakla Samani Gelir ZamaniSakla Samani Gelir Zamani
Guerssen Records 2013
Hal HalHal Hal
Ais 2013
Mancoloji 1943Mancoloji 1943
Emre Muzik
Audio CD$24.92
$9.41 (used)

More places to buy BARIS MANCO music online Buy BARIS MANCO & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BARIS MANCO Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) ratings distribution

( ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BARIS MANCO Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BARIS MANCO "Sari Çizmeli Mehmet Aga (German Cassette)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives