Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Gekko Projekt - Electric Forest CD (album) cover


Gekko Projekt


Crossover Prog

3.30 | 20 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Prog Reviewer
3 stars American band Gekko Projekt was bord in 2010 and in 2012 they released their debut named Electric forest. The band consistof Vance Gloster (keyboards), Peter Matuchniak (guitars), Rick Meadows (bass) and Alan Smith (drums). Before this band take form all musicians involved here were already quite known in musical field with experince in this field. About this little album, what we have here is heavy prog, well done and and performed, maybe in some parts is lacking originality but in the end is quite a pleasent release. The music is energic with nice, smooth arrangements but aswell some more heavier sections are present, the instrumental tunes are to me the best, the ones with voice are so so and Black hole being the most unintresting track of the album. There are lots of chordal changes, rhythmic tempos, competent guitar chops and the keyboards are present when needed, the perfect example is opening track Particle Dance, one of the most intresting pieces of the album. All in all, a fairly decent towards great album this Electric forest, with enough good moments to be heared by any prog listner out there. Worth it, 3 stars for sure, 3.5 in places. A nice art work and overall digipak.

b_olariu | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this GEKKO PROJEKT review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives