Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Quarto Vuoto

Rock Progressivo Italiano

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Quarto Vuoto Illusioni album cover
4.58 | 12 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2017

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Nei Colori del Silenzio (5:31)
2. Coscienza Sopita (6:50)
3. Impasse (11:31)
4. Apofis (11:03)
5. Due°Io (9:15)
6. Tornerò (4:57)

Total Time 49:07

Line-up / Musicians

- Edoardo Ceron / Bass
- Nicola D'Amico / Drums
- Mattia Scomparin / Keyboards
- Luca Volonnino / Guitar
- Giulio Dalla Mora / Tenor Sax (3,4)
- Mauro Spinazzè / Violin (6)

Releases information

Label: Lizard Records (LIZARD CD 0129)
Format: CD, Digital
June 16, 2017

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy QUARTO VUOTO Illusioni Music

Lizard 2017
$17.15 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy QUARTO VUOTO music online Buy QUARTO VUOTO & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

QUARTO VUOTO Illusioni ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(42%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

QUARTO VUOTO Illusioni reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by andrea
5 stars Illusioni (Illusions) is the second album by Quarto Vuoto, a talented band from Mogliano Veneto, in the province of Treviso. It follows the excellent eponymous debut work from 2014 and was released in 2017 on the independent label Lizard Records with a renewed line up featuring Edoardo Ceron (bass), Nicola D'Amico (drums), Mattia Scomparin (keyboards, piano) and Luca Volonnino (guitar) plus some guests. In fact, in 2015 Federico Lorenzon (vocals, violin) left the band and wasn't replaced but during the recording sessions Giulio Dalla Mora (sax) and Mauro Spinazz' (violin) gave their contribute to enrich the sound on some tracks. The new album is completely instrumental and the images provided by Lorenzo Giolin's wonderful art work in some way take the place of the lyrics in describing the concept behind the music. According to the band, all the pieces have a meaning, a story to tell, but the listener is free to interpret them with the help of his own imagination and sensitivity' Through our music we want to tell and describe the perception that men have of the reality that surrounds them... The six tracks represent different phases of human perception...

The dreamy opener 'Nei colori del silenzio' (In the colours of silence) is calm and nocturnal. The music tries to evoke the innocence of childhood and the power of imagination typical of that age. An animated cartoon video directed by Lorenzo Giolin himself was shot to comment this piece and to represent its magic...

The following 'Coscienza sopita' (Asleep consciousness) is nervous and tense. It tries to depict the spirit of rebellion of youth and the awareness of maturity, when the daily grind begins to produce its effects and starts to wear you out. The picture in the booklet portrays the lights and shadows of a big city at night. Behind the window of a lighted office there's a bent man, he seems tired. That office might be his cage...

The long, melancholic 'Impasse' tries to evoke the difficulties that you have to tackle in your life, the obstacles that you have to overcome. In the booklet, in the picture chosen to comment this piece you can see a bizarre world of flying rocks connected by ropes and crumbling bridges...

The title of the following 'Apofis' (Apophis) refers to the ancient Egyptian deity who embodied chaos and was thus the opponent of light and Ma'at (order/truth). This piece starts with sudden bursts of energy, the mood is dark and seems to mark the explosion of a deep crises. Then a calm jazzy passage follows with a sax solo evoking nostalgia and regret. As the music flows, there are many other changes in rhythm and atmosphere where you can perceive growing tension, rage but also positive memories. Here the picture in the booklet with its explosion of colours on a spectral background evokes a world falling apart in an infinite space...

The reflective 'Due io' (Two I) seems to evoke the wisdom and calm of the old age. The atmosphere here is almost mystical while the picture in the booklet marks the contradictions of the life in a big city where lighted skyscrapers contrast with the hidden underground net. This piece comes like the calm after the storm...

The closer 'Torner' (I'll come back) begins by a beautiful soaring violin passage and a nice melodic pattern. It's a wonderful track that marks the come back to the origins, a reflection about the sense of a life that is coming to an end. What will remain of us in the afterlife? Of course, there's no answer. It's just a starting point for a reflection while the world is turning upside down' Set your imagination free!

On the whole, I think that this is a really good album!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of QUARTO VUOTO "Illusioni"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives