Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Laurie Anderson

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Laurie Anderson Life On A String album cover
3.94 | 12 ratings | 1 reviews | 9% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. One White Whale (2:02)
2. The Island Where I Come from (4:07)
3. Pieces and Parts (3:34)
4. Here With You (2:22)
5. Slip Away (5:50)
6. My Compensation (2:28)
7. Dark Angel (3:23)
8. Broken (3:19)
9. Washington Street (4:40)
10. Statue of Liberty (4:24)
11. One Beautiful Evening (5:05)
12. Life on a String (2:57)

Total Time 44:15


Search LAURIE ANDERSON Life On A String lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search LAURIE ANDERSON Life On A String tabs

Line-up / Musicians

- Laurie Anderson / vocals, keyboards (1,3,5,9,10,12), violin (4,8-10), gong (10), percussion (12), co-producer

- Tom Nelis / vocals (1)
- John Kelly / backing vocals (1)
- Skúli Sverrisson / bowed guitar (12), organ (2), keyboards (12), bass (2-5,8-12), percussion programming (6),sound effects (10,11), co-producer
- Bill Frisell / guitar (9)
- Lou Reed / guitar (11)
- Mitchell Froom / keyboards (3), Claviola (3), Mellotron (3,8,11), Wurlitzer (8)
- Peter Scherer / keyboards (5,8,12), percussion (5)
- Jamshied Sharifi / keyboards & string synthesizer (5)
- Mocean Worker / keyboards & percussion (11)
- Eyvind Kang / violin (3)
- Eric Friedlander / cello (3-5,10)
- Van Dyke Parks / strings arranger & conductor (7), keyboards (7)
- Elena Barere / concertmaster (7)
- Timothy Cobb / acoustic bass (7)
- Fredrick Zlotkin / cello (7)
- Jeanne LeBlanc / cello (7)
- Judith Wilmer & 3 others / viola (7)
- Ann Leathers & 10 others / violin (7)
- Chris Speed / saxophone (2)
- Cuong Vu / trumpet (2)
- Greg Cohen / acoustic bass (2)
- Joey Baron / percussion (1), drums (5,8,9)
- Danny Frankel / percussion (2,11)
- Mino Cinelu / percussion (2)
- Martin Brumbach / percussion arrangements (11)
- Vinicius Cantuaria / percussion (12)
- Hal Willner / samples & turntables (6,7), co-producer
- David Torn / loops (2)
- Liheng / huqin (5)

Releases information

Artwork: Barbara De Wilde with Noah Greenberg (photo)

CD Nonesuch ‎- 795392-2 (2001, US)

Thanks to slartibartfast for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

LAURIE ANDERSON MP3, Free Download (music stream)

Open extended player in a new pop-up window | Random Playlist (50) | How to submit new MP3s
No MP3/Stream available for this artist.
Collaborate with, learn how to submit new MP3s.

Buy LAURIE ANDERSON Life On A String Music

Life on a StringLife on a String
Nonesuch 2001
Audio CD$2.34 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy LAURIE ANDERSON music online Buy LAURIE ANDERSON & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

LAURIE ANDERSON Life On A String ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(9%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(64%)
Good, but non-essential (18%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

LAURIE ANDERSON Life On A String reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Slartibartfast
4 stars Life On A String

The title says it all. Creepy that this one should come out shortly before the 9/11/01 attacks. As much as I have enjoyed the quirkier stuff from early on, this album seems much more refined Acoustic instruments dominate the album.

One White Whale - odd opening vocal , then very peaceful.

The Island Where I Come From - takes you to the Caribbean. A bassist that worked with Allan Holdsworth, Skuli Sverrisson, is on this one. Also David Torn. They show up on other tracks.

Pieces And Parts - starts off with a spoken Laurie part. Another whale song of sorts.

Here With You - a really nice trio chamber music instrumental and really pairs well with the next track:

Slip Away - a bigger group of musicians. Vocals this time. A really poignant song about seeing someone you love dying.

My Compensation - a sarcastic little piece with a guy doing turntables and samples.

Dark Angel - so now we get an orchestra with samples. Peculiar song, though you can apply it to most of Laurie's stuff.

Broken - dark song about a couple falling apart. Back to electronics.

Washington Street - she sings about a cold rain and you can feel it.

Statue Of Liberty - another one of those spooky songs to come out near 9/11/01: "Freedom is a scary thing Not many people want it"

One Beautiful Evening - another dark piece. I think Laurie may have been the gateway drug to the Univers.

Life On A String - beautiful ending track. "But for me I'm looking for a single moment when I can slip through time.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of LAURIE ANDERSON "Life On A String"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives